Dear Stomach . . .

Dear Stomach,


You are my first line of defense, with the army of acid that sterilizes the food that comes in. You hold the food I have enjoyed until the enzymes and acids break it down enough for the small intestine to do its job.


You remind me to eat, so the rest of my body will receive the energy, nutrients, and minerals it needs to keep me alive and well. You will growl and moan, and won’t let me rest until I have everything I need.


You are often also my first warning when something I ate isn’t the best for this body. Thank you for all you deal with, when I’ve made choices that cause you unrest.


Thank you, Stomach, for taking whatever I give you, and preparing it for the journey it will undertake to provide this body with energy and life.


Your Human

Photo by Trang Doan on Pexels.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started